Learning how to read for fun


My favorite reading spot ~ sitting on a dock over the Pamlico Sound (the body of water west of Ocracoke Island in between the island and mainland).

Since my move to Ocracoke I’ve been working on reading a book called Lost in Translation by Jean Kwok.  On my last day in New York City I visited my good friends Lisa and Saul, who must have hundreds of books in their home that I’m sure have all been read.  While visiting I returned Crime and Punishment to Saul – I had the book for several months but never made the time to read it.  I’m hoping that the quiet nature of my new home and the increase in free time will push me to finish the 5 books I acquired at the village thrift store yesterday.

Do others out there have trouble starting or finishing a book?  Do you have any suggestions of ways to concentrate on reading or make time to read?  Are there people that used to dislike reading that have come to love it?

What do you think?

